How I Wrote a Book on Medium

A semi-methodical approach to creating a work of nonfiction, article by article, chapter by chapter

Robert Roy Britt
16 min readDec 12, 2022

--

That’s me. Could just as easily be you.

Wow, oh wow. Am I ever excited to finally hold the paperback version of this book, written by some guy who used to work in a sawmill and eventually got a college degree then spent 30 years reporting on science and health before finding the inspiration to pen 300 pages he hopes will inspire others to find better physical, mental and emotional health and greater happiness.

I could not have done it without Medium.

Since Jan. 1, 2019 I’ve been writing about health and wellness on this ad-free platform, where I retain copyright to my articles and am free to reuse them as I wish. Then suddenly one day I realized I had a book on my hands. Well, not literally on my hands yet, but right there in front of me, a bunch of “chapters” already written, amid the more than 300 news and feature stories I’d published. In truth, the epiphany was not a total accident. Instead, it was the half-ass planned result of nearly four years pursuing a wide range of subjects that interested me and generated interest among readers.

The lesson learned: If you are a talented blogger, a solid journalist, or any sort of topical expert able to pen informative, engaging articles, then you can…

--

--

Robert Roy Britt

Editor of Aha! and Wise & Well on Medium + the Writer's Guide at writersguide.substack.com. Author of Make Sleep Your Superpower: amazon.com/dp/B0BJBYFQCB